top of page

Adventure On

Welcome to our Adventures on the Road of Life


From Healthcare to Freedom and Purpose


Let me introduce myself and why I’m here


My name is Amy Lang and I am a partially retired labor and delivery and hospice nurse. After 25 years of bedside nursing I became burned out and knew something had to change. I met my wife Marcy and we began to talk about our lives together. We knew we wanted to travel and explore new places. However work was putting a damper on our fun time. Marcy was ready to retire but I was not ready to let go of nursing altogether. I knew I had more to give. So I began to look for a job that would allow me to have the lifestyle of travel and freedom. I wanted to be able to work whenever and whereever I wanted. This time around, I wanted to be my own boss. So I discovered nurse coaching.  I took the certification course and dove into starting my private coaching practice. 


Fear: 

As Marcy was thinking about when to pull the plug on retirement, the golden handcuffs kept her in her current position. She was comfortable and financially secure.  One of the biggest leaps for her was to jump into being financially insecure.  The thought of not having a paycheck every month or knowing how much we really would need given an early retirement was terrifying. We had many “counseling” sessions with our financial advisor.  


A change in mindset: 

We began to look at what was behind the desire to retire. Marcy’s entire career was in radiation oncology and I was a hospice nurse. We have seen and talked to many people at the end of their lives- some young, some old.  When I would ask them what was most important and memorable in their lives, the majority of them would say family, friends and travel. Work was not of primary importance, in fact many wished they didn’t spend so much time focused on work. We also saw many people who received a terminal diagnosis just after they retired and were unable to enjoy what they had been working for thier entire life. This informed our decision to retire and travel. 

Our mantra became: You can always make more money but you can’t make more time. 


Purpose:

So we pulled the plug. We followed our dream and began our travels across the United States in our new van, Juliet.  The purpose of the trip became to have adventures, see new places and connect with family and friends while also making new friends. The pandemic caused so much disconnection that we wanted to turn that around and reconnect.  Our plan was to stay with family and friends as much as possible. What unfolded was as people learned that we were traveling their way, they opened their home/driveway for us to stay.  The connections were so memorable and beautiful.  So that brings me to why I am writing… to share our experiences and to inspire others to create the life of their dreams- full of purpose, joy and freedom.

Get our there and live life now because you never know what tomorrow may bring!

Adventure on!





I hope to inspire and provide content that is helpful on your road of life.


Feel free to leave a comment and contact me



16 views0 comments
bottom of page